Image

3D Scanners

In-depth Reviews 3D Scanning Hardware.

HP 3D Structured Light Scanner Pro S3 (DAVID SLS-3) Review
2 weeks ago

HP 3D Structured Light Scanner Pro S3 (DAVID SLS-3) Review

HP might be best-known for their printers and computers, but now they’re entering the market of 3D scanning as well. The company started experimenting with this technology back in 2016 when they released the original Sprout all-in-one computer with built-in 3D scanner, which I reviewed a while ago. Recently, they released the Sprout G2, which I’ll review soon.

But while the Sprout line is targeted towards consumers and education, HP took a step into the professional market by acquiring DAVID in 2016. They’ve finished rebranding the product website and software, so it’s the perfect time for an in-depth, hands-on review of what now known as the HP 3D Structured Light Scanner Pro S3 but is better known under its original name: DAVID SLS-3.

I’ll compare this solution to other scanners I’ve reviewed in the past, as well as the Sprout’s internal 3D scanner.

Read More

3D Systems iSense 3D Scanner and iOS App Review
4 weeks ago

3D Systems iSense 3D Scanner and iOS App Review

A while ago I reviewed the Structure Sensor — a great and versatile 3D scanning sensor for the iPad. Today I’m testing the 3D Systems iSense. This device is actually a re-branded Structure Sensor, produced by Occipital, but used to be sold and supported by 3D Systems. This 3D printer manufacturer has used third party sensors before. The first generation Sense for Mac and Windows (Review) was basically a PrimeSense Carmine and the currently-available Sense 2 (Review) features an Intel RealSense SR300.

The iSense has been discontinued by 3D Systems in 2016. It’s no longer sold by them directly, but resellers might still have stock. But the real good news is that you can find many unused iSense scanners at enormous discounts on Amazon and eBay — a new Structure Sensor costs $379 while I got the iSense I’m using for this review on eBay for $58 (no typo).

But does that low price mean it’s suddenly a bad device? Let’s find out!

Read More

Structure Sensor vs. iSense for 3D Scanning – with Example Scans
4 weeks ago

Structure Sensor vs. iSense for 3D Scanning – with Example Scans

Over the past months I’ve received a lot of questions regarding this post about the hugely discounted iSense 3D Scanner from 3D System. I’m updating that post weekly with all the facts that I’ve gathered from readers, manufacturers and developers. I advice you to read it if you’re interested in knowing the differences and the reason why the iSense is currently offered so cheap on Amazon and eBay.

But regardless of the information in that post, I was still getting a lot of questions and remarks. So to settle this, I decided to simply an iSense myself — for $58 on eBay including bracket. Since I already own a Structure Sensor, I can now compare them hands-on instead of on claims of other people that honestly didn’t always make sense (pun sort of intended).

Before I continue, I must stress that you should really read the other post regarding possible compatibility issues if you plan on purchasing an iSense at a discount. Mine works like a charm and of the readers that have contacted me, about 75% had the same positive experience and the other 25% had a negative one. Maybe I got lucky, or maybe I just know how to work with this kind of device, I don’t know.

I’m not sure what cause the negative experience for some. Some error messages people sent me sounded more like a defective iSense than an incompatible one. And I got quite a few messages from people complaining about the scan quality of the iSense.

The big question of course is: If it works, is there any difference in scan quality?

Read More

Updated: Structure Sensor vs. Intel RealSense SR300 vs. Kinect V2
2 months ago

Updated: Structure Sensor vs. Intel RealSense SR300 vs. Kinect V2

This post was originally published in August 2016 and has been updated in February 2017 with more information and example scans

I just got this question as a reply to my Facebook Page:

It’s an interesting one, and the reply I wrote was so long that I decided to put it up here so it’s available for everyone with that wants to start 3D Scanning — and 3D Printing — on a budget:

Read More

Artec Eva 3D Scanner Review
2 months ago

Artec Eva 3D Scanner Review

In the last two years, many new 3D scanners have entered the market. From entry-level infrared depth sensors to structured light scanners aimed at professionals. For this review, I’ve been testing the Artec Eva — a handheld 3D scanner that has been around since 2012. But if you think that means it’s outdated hardware, you’re very wrong. In reality, Artec is one of the industry-standard brands of handheld 3D scanners.

The Eva is their “general-purpose” white light scanner that can be used to capture anything from the size of a shoe to that of a car with a point accuracy of up to 0,1mm. For smaller objects or very small details (up to 0.05mm accuracy), Artec offers the Space Spider blue light scanner that can also be used… in space! I’ll review that one soon (on earth, unfortunately).

The Eva is used for many purposes, from quality control to cultural heritage and from rapid prototyping to medical applications. It’s also commonly used to create assets for games and visual effects for movies and TV shows, like the Batman-inspired series Gotham. The scanner was also used to create the very first presidential portrait in 3D of Barack Obama.

My review unit came with a complementary training by Dutch Artec Reseller MiniYours / 3D Scan Solutions, which got me started quickly. I’ve been testing the Eva for about two months.

Let’s dive in!

Read More

Sense 2 (RealSense SR300) 3D Scanner Review
4 months ago

Sense 2 (RealSense SR300) 3D Scanner Review

With 2016 coming to an end, it’s time to look back at another year. For me it was the year I decided to put my blogging and R&D focus entirely on 3D capturing technologies. Without any regrets! It’s a great journey so far and I’ve tested a lot of great hardware and software in a market that’s changing faster than many people realize.

The very first 3D scanning hardware I reviewed was 3D Systems’ first generation Sense scanner in February. Because that device was part of the consumer-focused Cubify brand that was discontinued in 2015, I didn’t expect the Sense to get a successor. But I was wrong and today I’m writing about my experience with the Sense 2 — or as 3D Systems calls it, the “Next Generation Sense”. It’s now targeted more towards professionals, but still has the consumer-friendly price tag of $399.

My review model has been kindly provided by 3D Printer and 3D Scanner store Machines 3D!

In this Review, I’ll compare the 3D Systems Sense 2 to

  • It’s predecessor, the original 3D Systems Sense 3D Scanner (which I’ll refer to as Sense 1)
  • The XYZ 3D Scanner, because that features the Intel RealSense F200 sensor which has been succeeded by the SR300 sensor in the Sense 2.
  • The Structure Sensor, which 3D Systems also used to sell under the name iSense. This rebranded device has recently been discontinued. (I’ll refer to it as Structure Sensor)

Read More

Preview: Wacom MobileStudio Pro with 3D Scanner First Impression
5 months ago

Preview: Wacom MobileStudio Pro with 3D Scanner First Impression

Yesterday night, I attended an exclusive Wacom release event in Amsterdam. Here the maker of industry-standard pen input devices presented new products, including the new Cintiq Pro and MobileStudio Pro that I wrote about earlier.

wacom_mobilestudio_pro_preview_1

I also got some time to play with the highest-end 16-inch MobileStudio Pro, which includes the NVIDIA Quadro M1000M GPU and an Intel RealSense R200 3D Scanner with Artec Studio 11 Ultimate software.

Read More

HP Sprout Pro 3D Scanning Review
5 months ago

HP Sprout Pro 3D Scanning Review

3D scanning is getting increasingly popular, and affordable. This not only leads to lots of new 3D scanning hardware you can connect to a computer or tablet, but also integrating it into these devices. There have been quite a few manufacturers that have build Intel RealSense depth sensors into laptops and tablets, but HP has taken a different approach. The company that “reinvents everything” has build a all-in-one desktop computer, that has a bit more emphasis on all. 

The Sprout by HP, as it’s called, not only has all the computer’s hardware inside the 23.6 inch touchscreen, but also has an integrated Sprout Illuminator. This overhead device houses a digital camera, Intel RealSense 3D Camera, a reading lamp and a DLP projector. The latter projects a second screen down onto the TouchMat a pressure-sensitive placemat that can be operated with fingers as well as the included stylus.

The Sprout comes with many applications that are specifically designed to use the TouchMat. It contains all kinds of creative apps that let you draw, make music and even stop-motion animations. It also comes with many educational apps. Some of them even use Augmented Reality (AR) to overlay virtual information on top of printed classroom materials.

I am, however, not going to talk about any of these features. There are many reviews online that do this already. In this review I’m just going to test the Sprout’s 3D scanning capabilities. But I’ll go quite a lot deeper into this than any other review out there.

My review hardware was kindly provided by Dutch Sprout Reseller De Rekenwinkel, which even made a dedicated website for the machine.

Read More

Shining 3D Einscan-Pro 3D Scanner Review
6 months ago

Shining 3D Einscan-Pro 3D Scanner Review

Update 6 December 2016

Shining 3D announced a big update to the EinScan software that promises a lot of user experience improvements that are not reviewed below.

A few months back I reviewed the Einscan-S, an affordable (€1090) desktop 3D scanner manufactured by Shining 3D. In this post, I’ll take a look at their latest device, the Einscan-Pro, kindly supplied by the France-based 3D Printing and Scanning store Machines 3D.

As the name suggests, this new model is aimed at professionals. When it comes to structured light scanning from a tripod, the Pro is a greatly improved version of the S. But on top of that, it’s also a handheld 3D Scanner. That makes it a direct competitor to established handheld 3D scanners like the Artec EVA and Creaform Go!SCAN. But while those and similar scanners are priced in the €15,000 – €20,000+ range, the Einscan-Pro starts at a competitive €3990.

However, this base model cannot capture color out of the box. If you also want to scan textures you can get the Color Pack for an extra €600 (€700 is you buy it later). And for yet another €600, you can get the Industrial Pack, which includes a Tripod and an electric Turntable. As you can see in the header image, I’ve tested the scanner with both packs.

So it’s 3-4 times more affordable than it’s industrial competitors. That’s a great USP to have. I haven’t done in-depth tests with the EVA and Go!SCAN yet, so I’m only able to make comparisons with those based on specs. Of course, I will compare it to the Einscan-S and other scanners I’ve reviewed.

Read More

Preview: 3 Affordable Smartphone 3D Scanners
8 months ago

Preview: 3 Affordable Smartphone 3D Scanners

The market for 3D scanning is changing and is no longer limited to industrial measuring purposes. Now that services such as Sketchfab make it easy to share 3D models through the (Mobile) Web and in Virtual Reality, both consumers and (creative) professionals are starting to see the benefits of presenting their physical work, products or finds in 3D. This group is also realizing that they don’t have to spent thousands of dollars on a industrial-grade 3D scanner, but can instead capture 3D with their Smartphone—with the help of Free Photogrammetry Apps.

Manufacturers are noticing this and are currently creating a completely new, innovative breed of affordable devices that make 3D scanning faster, more precise—and simply more fun! But can these benefits make them worth their price?

In this post I’ll take a look at 3 upcoming devices that are all crowdfunding successes—and will become available in 2016: The eora 3D, Pixelio and Bevel.

Read More

Receive Monthly Updates

Blog updates delivered straight to your inbox through my monthly Newsletter...
Email address