Image

Search Results for: einscan review

EinScan HD Prime Pack for EinScan-Pro+ Review

By  •  november 12, 2018

A while ago I reviewed the EinScan-Pro+, the successor of the original EinScan-Pro. Although I mainly focus on the Rapid Handheld scan mode in both reviews, I did note that …
Read More

EinScan Discovery Pack (for SE/SP) Review

By  •  september 26, 2018

I like the EinScan-SE & SP Desktop 3D scanners. When I reviewed them, it became clear to me that Shining3D has produced two compelling scanners. For $1299, the SE is …
Read More

Shining 3D EinScan-Pro+ 3D Scanner Review

By  •  augustus 31, 2017

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

When I reviewed the EinScan-Pro last year I concluded that it was a good new entry in the professional handheld 3D scanner market at a competitive price of $3990 plus an optional $699 for the Color Module. Add another $699 for the Industrial Pack, and you also get an automatic turntable and tripod to use the EinScan-Pro as a desktop 3D scanner.

I liked the scan quality of both the Rapid Handheld Mode and the Fixed Tripod Mode but wasn’t convinced about the HD Handheld mode. That mode promised higher handheld scan quality with a laser scanner-like line-based projection, but it was too slow to work with professionally.

I also didn’t like the color quality of some scans, especially larger objects and people. The texture maps where very uneven and not pleasing to look at.

What I also mentioned was that back then I tested version 1.6.4. of the included software and that it needed some improvements to work well enough for professionals.

This year, Shining 3D launched the EinScan-Pro+. This Plus-model is not a replacement for the Pro but an alternative option. According to the product website it has everything the Pro has, but offers a new HD scanning mode, larger scan area and faster scanning speed. It also comes with Shining 3D’s latest scanning software version 2.5.

The complete package was provided to me by Shining 3D in return for an honest, unbiased review. I’ve used the scanner for 3 weeks on an almost daily basis before writing this review and actually learned a lot about both the hardware and the software. Many of those things also apply to the EinScan-Pro so I’ve updated that review in some points to reflect my new experiences.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

 

Read More

Shining 3D EinScan-SE & EinScan-SP Review & Comparison

By  •  juni 15, 2017

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

Little over month ago I wrote a preview post about the EinScan-SE & SP desktop 3D scanners, after attending the launch event in Shining 3D’s new office in Stuttgart, Germany. Now — after a few weeks of testing both devices — it’s not only time for a full in-depth, hands-on Review, but also a comparison between the two.

Read More

Shining 3D Einscan-Pro 3D Scanner Review

By  •  september 15, 2016

Update 6 December 2016

Shining 3D announced a big update to the EinScan software that promises a lot of user experience improvements that are not reviewed below.

A few months back I reviewed the Einscan-S, an affordable (€1090) desktop 3D scanner manufactured by Shining 3D. In this post, I’ll take a look at their latest device, the Einscan-Pro, kindly supplied by the France-based 3D Printing and Scanning store Machines 3D.

As the name suggests, this new model is aimed at professionals. When it comes to structured light scanning from a tripod, the Pro is a greatly improved version of the S. But on top of that, it’s also a handheld 3D Scanner. That makes it a direct competitor to established handheld 3D scanners like the Artec EVA and Creaform Go!SCAN. But while those and similar scanners are priced in the €15,000 – €20,000+ range, the Einscan-Pro starts at a competitive €3990.

However, this base model cannot capture color out of the box. If you also want to scan textures you can get the Color Pack for an extra €600 (€700 is you buy it later). And for yet another €600, you can get the Industrial Pack, which includes a Tripod and an electric Turntable. As you can see in the header image, I’ve tested the scanner with both packs.

So it’s 3-4 times more affordable than it’s industrial competitors. That’s a great USP to have. I haven’t done in-depth tests with the EVA and Go!SCAN yet, so I’m only able to make comparisons with those based on specs. Of course, I will compare it to the Einscan-S and other scanners I’ve reviewed.

Read More

Einscan-S Review - Macbook Pro setup on Desk

Shining 3D Einscan-S 3D Scanner Review

By  •  juni 20, 2016

Update December 2016

Shining 3D announced a big update to the EinScan software that promises a lot of user experience improvements that are not reviewed below.

Update April 2017

Shining 3D announced new versions of the EinScan-S, namely the SE and SP.

I learned about the Chinese manufacturer Shining 3D in late 2014—back when I was still reviewing 3D printers—when they released their Einstart-S Desktop 3D Printer. And although I wasn’t actively blogging in 2015, I did notice thesuccessful Kickstarter campaign for their first 3D Scanner, the Einscan-S, which was released in July 2015.

I’ve also reviewed the Einscan-Pro an compared it to the Einscan-S in every aspect—read my Einscan-Pro Review here.

Read More

HP Z Camera 3D Scanner Review

By  •  november 22, 2018

Over the past two years, HP has been entering the 3D scanning market. They started by introducing the first generation Sprout Pro all-in-one computer with built-in structured light scanner (Review). …
Read More

Shining3D introduces EinScan Pro 2X & 2X Plus at Formnext 2018

By  •  november 14, 2018

It’s Formnext again, meaning lots of news about 3D printing. But like last year, there are also many 3D scanner manufacturers present at the annual trade show.

One of them …
Read More

Matter and Form 3D Scanner V2 Review

By  •  augustus 15, 2018

Introduction

This is a bit of background info about the history of affordable 3D scanners, so feel free to skip the intro and drive right into the Review.

Back in …
Read More

EORA 3D Smartphone Laser Scanner Review

By  •  juni 12, 2018
Updated 12 June 2018
This Review has been updated for the public release of Eora Studio. It was previously published using the beta version of the app.

Back in August 2016 I wrote a post about upcoming, crowd-funded 3D scanning hardware for smartphones. One of them was a turntable for photogrammetry: Pixelio, which I’m pretty sure went out of business that same year. The other two are both 3D scanning solutions that use a laser line as the light source and the smartphone camera for capturing.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

I reviewed Bevel — a $89 clip-on smartphone accessory aimed at making 3D selfies — last year and concluded that it didn’t work very well. I couldn’t imagine consumers paying that amount of money to carry around an extra device to make 3D selfies that don’t look flattering or sometimes horrifying. And while there is certainly potential in capturing 3D selfies, Sony showed at MWC 2018 that this can now be done without special 3D scanning hardware. I tested it and it works pretty well indeed.

But in this post I’m writing about the third solution on that 2016 list: EORA 3D. It also uses a laser for 3D scanning, but is aimed at scanning objects. And arguably also at a more professional audience.

In this post I’m diving into my experiences with EORA 3D to find out if dedicated 3D scanning hardware is still relevant now that smartphone 3D capture is moving towards software-only solutions.

Read More