Image

Photogrammetry Software

Reviews of Photogrammetry / Photo Scanning Software that let you make 3D Scans from regular Photos.

Photogrammetry Drag Race: ReMake vs. PhotoScan vs. RealityCapture vs. Zephyr
2 months ago

Photogrammetry Drag Race: ReMake vs. PhotoScan vs. RealityCapture vs. Zephyr

I get a lot of questions about the computation speed versus the quality of photogrammetry solutions. Now that I’ve finished my fourth review of a desktop program I though it was time to start a new series where I will benchmark various applications with different kinds of images and goals.

I’m starting with a test that will be most important when people want to choose between hardware-based 3D scanning and Photogrammetry. Often a deciding factor in this is processing time. It’s good to know that all 3D scanning methods require time for processing and for hardware scanners this greatly depends on the accuracy of the scanner. So I took a processing time average between processing times of depth sensor software like Skanect and professional-grade solutions like EinScan and Artec Studio.

In general, I found that for everyday projects where speed is more important than ultimate quality, the 15-20 minute mark can be considered “fast”. When I do 3D renders for animation or VFX I call this coffee-break rendering. It’s the exact opposite of doing overnight computations. Realistic enough for tight deadlines and small budgets.

Because I think every story should contain an automotive analogy I decided to call this experiment a Photogrammetry Software Drag Race — it’s short, it’s fast, it’s dirty. This post is not about creating stunningly beautiful 3D models — it’s about efficiency and productivity.

Read More

3DF Zephyr Photogrammetry Software Review
3 months ago

3DF Zephyr Photogrammetry Software Review

Next up in my series of professional photogrammetry software reviews — after Autodesk ReMake, Agisoft PhotoScan and RealityCapture — is 3DF Zephyr. It’s developed by Italian company …
Read More

RealityCapture Review
4 months ago

RealityCapture Review

Next up in my series of Photogrammetry Software Reviews — after Autodesk ReMake and Agisoft PhotoScan — is Capturing Reality RealityCapture (yes, that’s the company and product …
Read More

Agisoft PhotoScan Review
4 months ago

Agisoft PhotoScan Review


Part of my plan for 2017 was covering more Photogrammetry software. After Autodesk ReCap (Review) and ReMake (Review) it’s now time for Agisoft PhotoScan. It’s developed by the Russian Agisoft LLC, founded in 2006.

The software very popular with photogrammetry professionals in all kinds of industries and is commonly used to 3D capture digital assets for Film VFX and Game Development. For example, it was the main photogrammetry software for capturing environmental assets for Star Wars: Battlefront which I wrote about a while ago. It’s s also used a lot in Archaeology and Cultural Heritage.

PhotoScan is also used a lot for drone-based aerial surveying, but that’s not a purpose I’ll be covering in this post.

This comprehensive review focuses on using PhotoScan for capturing objects of all sizes, using various single-camera setups.

Expert Tips
I realize that my reviews are being read by beginners and advanced users alike. That’s why I’m trying something new with this post: I’m covering the basic workflow in the regular text and go into more advanced featured of PhotoScan in panels like this. Hope you like!
Read More

Autodesk ReMake Photogrammetry Review
7 months ago

Autodesk ReMake Photogrammetry Review

Update March 2017:
The Mac version of Autodesk ReMake will be discontinued on March 31, 2017. The Review has been edited to reflect this.

In 2016 I’ve mainly reviewed dedicated hardware that can be used for 3D Scanning — or Active Reality Capture, if you will — from entry-level infrared depth sensors like the Structure Sensor and Sense 2 to the professional white light scanners like the EinScan-Pro and Artec Eva. The price difference between those is huge (from less than $500 to way more than $5,000) but more expensive 3D scanners can capture a lot more detail.

Structure Sensor (itSeez3D) vs. Artec Eva (Sharp Fiusion)

The difference in geometric detail between an affordable depth sensor and a professional handheld 3D scanner is clear: Structure Sensor (itSeez3D, 48.5k faces) vs. Artec Eva (Sharp Fiusion, 800.0k faces) (Click for Sketchfab versions)

But 3D scanner are not the only way to capture reality anymore. Passive Reality Capture technologies, like Photogrammetry, don’t require any special hardware. A camera and a computer will do. Even a smartphone — which is basically a camera and computer in one — can do photogrammetry when combined with Free Apps. That link brings you to one of the most-read posts on this website, because why would you pay for 3D scanning if it can be free?

Those apps, however, have their downsides. That’s why I’m starting a new series of reviews that will cover Professional Photogrammetry Software. First in line is Autodesk ReMake — previously known as Memento — which is available for Windows and Mac. As you might now, I have reviewed Autodesk ReCap 360 in the past. Or at least, the web-interface (that also works on Android) of that software. As a whole ReCap 360 is actually meant for working with laser scans — from the new (and awesome) Leica BLK360 scanner or others — and mix those with photogrammetry if needed. ReMake is purely meant for photogrammetry and offers a complete set of tools to generate, edit and export 3D scans made from photos.

Autodesk’s goal with ReMake is to make professional Reality Capture simple and affordable. Let’s find out of they have succeeded!

Read More

3 Free 3D Scanning Apps that don’t require extra Hardware
1 year ago

3 Free 3D Scanning Apps that don’t require extra Hardware

Photogrammetry Apps Comparison:
123D Catch vs. Trnio vs. Scann3D vs. Seene vs. ReCap 360

Show Post Update Details
On 16 December 2016 Autodesk announced that all 123D Catch will be discontinued. As of January 2017, 123D Catch is not available for download anymore. You can still read my 123D Catch review here.

As a new addition to this updated post, I added Autodesk Recap 360 which isn’t an app but does have a web interface that works on Android making it a good alternative for the discontinued 123D Catch.

This post originally also contained the Seene app. But this has been discontinued since it was acquired by Snapchat and that review has been removed from this post completely because it didn’t offer 360° 3D capture anyway.

 

Dedicated 3D scanning hardware is getting more mobile as we speak. While Structure Sensor (Review), iSense (Review) and RealSense R200 (Review) and SR300 (Review) are still more tablet devices, recent and upcoming solutions like Google Tango, Bevel (Review) and Scandy Pro are meant to be embedded or clipped onto smartphones.

New Tutorial (July 2017)

3D Scanning for FREE by just shooting Video with your Smartphone

Okay this is not an app but it is my personal new method of choice for capturing 3D on the go. Simply shoot video — preferably in 4K — and process it when you come back home on a Windows PC running the new, FREE version of 3DF Zephyr. Capture is fast and doesn’t require any special hardware or app. And the results are surprisingly good!

Read the Tutorial

But while depth sensors are indeed getting small enough to be pocketable soon, pure-software photogrammetry solutions that can generate 3D objects from regular 2D photos are getting smarter and faster, too. So I started asking myself: Do consumers actually need dedicated 3D capturing hardware for their phones if just software can do the trick?

To test the current state of software-only mobile 3D scanning, I tested different smartphone photogrammetry solutions on the same object under the same circumstances:

Read More

Autodesk ReCap 360 Review
2 years ago

Autodesk ReCap 360 Review

In this Review I’m testing Autodesk’s cloud-based “Photo to 3D”—or Photogrammetry—offerings: ReCap 360. Whereas 123D Catch is targeted at consumers, ReCap 360 is targeted at professionals. It has a few extra bells and whistles. Read on to find out if that means better results.

Update January 2017
Since Autodesk’s mobile app 123D Catch has recently been discontinued, I wrote a step-by-step tutorial about how ReCap 360 can be used on an Android Smartphone — a completely mobile workflow.

Check the new ReCap360 Mobile Workflow Tutorial

Read More

Autodesk 123D Catch (Discontinued)
2 years ago

Autodesk 123D Catch (Discontinued)

Relevant posts of existing software you might like Photogrammetry PC Software Reviews

If you want to get the most out of Photogrammetry, consider using these PC software solutions. They all …
Read More

Receive Monthly Updates

Blog updates delivered straight to your inbox through my monthly Newsletter...
Email address